Do You Force Your Kids to Eat? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 55 Old 05-14-2013, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My kids are 8, 5 and 3.  Eating is a huge issue in our house.  My 8 yo is my best eater but is still very picky.  

I have read you should serve the food and not say anything or make any issue about what they eat or do not eat.  Sigh that just doesn't happen here! My kids seem to eat nothing.  They do not get junk food or soda or unhealthily snacks. They live on fruit and yogurt and sandwiches.  The only veggies they eat are French cut green beans and broccoli. They won't even drink smoothies.  

It's a nightmare nightly.  I spend so much time cooking and they sit there and tell me it's disgusting and refuse to eat. They will gladly go to bed hungry.  They refuse to try new things.  I'm a short order cook most of the time.  If I ask "what does everyone want for lunch" I get 3 different answers.  I don't know what to do? I tried emeals and cooked what was on the menu nightly.  Eat it or go hungry.  I did it for over a month and gave up bc I threw all the food in the garbage.  Do I spend an hour cooking a healthy meal for them then just make them oatmeal when they refuse it? Do I let them never eat dinner? How do I get them to try new things? 

How? Why do I have these issues!? I started all of them super healthy on homemade baby food that they gobbled up.  I NEVER was like this as a kid.  I was happy I had food to eat.  I LOVED to try new things. 

supermod.gif who isbelly.gifwith #4  has jumpers.gif . Believe in homeschool.gif,bfinfant.gif,familybed1.gif,femalesling.GIF,h20homebirth.gif,goorganic.jpg,saynovax.gif

#2 of 55 Old 05-14-2013, 05:13 PM

To answer your question, no, I never force my kids to put anything in their bodies that they don't want or like.

I don't bribe, negociate, hide food, make it "fun" or play any tricks to get them to eat.