worried about Ds's handwriting age 7 - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 09-18-2013, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Ds is still struggling with handwriting mostly and spelling. He just turned 7 in july and in the 2nd grade. He will bring home work from school and it will suppose to be a story and i cannot even make out but one or two words. In k he was evaluated by an occupational therapist but they said he was okay then, just needed to practice more. Here it is 2 grades later and he is still struggling. He reads well and does well in math, not doing great in spelling even if we practice and handwriting/writing thoughts are paper are a big struggle.

What should I do? I am having him work with oil based clay everyday at home and work on beading, but what are some things to work on his writing skills? I am at a loss....I am studying to be an English teacher and I don't know what to do myself. 

supermod.gif semi crunchy single student super mama to DS 7wave.gif and DD 3shy.gif. Falling in stillheart.gif with single super dad superhero.gif to DD5kissy.gif and DD2energy.gif 
#2 of 3 Old 09-18-2013, 01:17 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

First thing I would do is get a re-evalutation. Talk to the teacher, see what suggestions she has for you. Head to a teacher supply store and pick up some supplies. Someone there will be able to make recommendations but a pencil grip helper would be one thing I would get for sure. My ds uses a spacer to help him otherwise his writing isallonebigword. Does he use the special lined paper? Do you think he lacks strength, endurance, ability, other? My 2nd grader lacks endurance for writing and we usually do one vocab word and then take a break. He is starting to do book reports and we do one section (2-3 sentences) and take a break. We are working to build endurance by adding drawing and other practices using the same skills but in a more fun way.