6 weeks to party! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 08-16-2002, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my daughter's only had one party with kid friends over so i'm still new to this... tell me what you think of these ideas please?

i think my daughter is having a BYOB party (bring your own baby/bear) [she's really stuck between wanting babies and wanting the wiggles, australian band of kid songs -- she keeps asking for TWO parties!!!] she wants to play babydolls with her friends so my thoughts are:

guests will be one year to six year in age with parents here

bib shapes cut out of felt that kids can decorate for their baby/bear with glue, felt pieces, sparkles, buttons, etc.

feed the baby 'race' (not focused on winning per se) of a plastic spoon and ping pong ball that child has to run and feed to baby

a huge turtle pool filled with dd's old baby toys for the 'babies' and one yr olds to play with

she also has some outside toys - teeter gator; big slide; small slide; coupe car; small playhouse

bubble station;

party will prob. start 10 - 1030 for kids and feed lunch about noonish or so. no clue what to feed the adults. i really hate sandwich platters but cant think of much else; maybe amer. chop suey sort of thing in a steam dish to keep warm. we'll have about 14 adults with family

folks here mentioned doing the present as each guest arrives -- dont you find that you're always having to pull the birthday person away from what they're doing in order to do that???? i like the idea of something different for presents, but not certain that feels quite right. we'll have take homes for the kids, but they'll all be the same so i hesitate to hand them out/played with before leaving -- know what i mean??

again, i'd love ANY ideas/suggestions etc. about this -- and yes you can even tell me i'm daft
#2 of 2 Old 08-16-2002, 11:36 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)