smelly armpits - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-12-2005, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What a title!

My dd, age 6, sometimes has smelly, sweaty armpits. I thought this wasn't suppose to happen until puberty?

DH is adopted and of undetermined genetic heritage. Could it be that some ethnic groups are more prone to this? (No one in my family has ever heard of this.) I fear it is her diet of soymilk that has brought this on. She bf for over 4 years, but started drinking soymilk as a toddler.

Any thoughts? Advice? Experience?

edited to say: I don't want a debate about soy! I have been and continue to do research about this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-13-2005, 03:39 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
No issues yet with my own kids. But, I've been a teacher for kindergarden-age bible school class, and I couldn't believe how smelly some of those kids were. I'm not sure of the exact ethnic heritage of the smelliest kids, but they were caucasian. It was really bad after they came back from recreation time (in the gym or running around outside).

I haven't noticed it with this year's batch of 1st graders, but then it's winter and the kids aren't running around as much.

Underarm stinkiness in a 6 year old probably falls under the category of 'unusual but not unheard of'.

New signature, same old me: Ann- mama of 2 boys and 2 girls, partnered to a fabulous man.
I'm an unintentional weasel feeder and I suck at proofreading.
Old 01-13-2005, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter

Thank you, Annethcz! That is a bit of a relief.
Old 01-13-2005, 04:52 PM

Definitely not unheard of! My dd is one of those kids who started stinking early. I was very surprised also. Do your dc's feet stink too? dd's do peeeee ewwwwwww!

I doubt it has anything to do with soy because my dd didn't have any soy and she still smells--lol.