Birthday party: I can't invite the whole class - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-02-2006, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My Dd wants to have a birthday party with kids this year. I've never done this before, but there is no way that I can invite all the kids in her class and in her playgroup, but the playgroup is too small to make up a party.

I don't want any kids to have their feelings hurt or to not invite her to things because she didn't invite them to hers. So, I guess maybe I should invite the playgroup only and no one from the class. How have you dealt with this situation? Has your child been hurt by not getting an invitation?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-02-2006, 09:15 PM

For DD's birthday I invited the 4 girls in her class that she plays with daily (not the entire class). I sent the invitations to the children's homes and just didn't talk about her party at school when I was dropping off/picking up.
Adia 4-3-2
Old 05-02-2006, 09:17 PM

Yes to the above - don't pass out the invitations at school - mail them directly to the children's homes.
Old 05-03-2006, 12:43 AM

We have done both - invited whole class but half don't show. DD was hurt earlier this year bc she wasn't invited to a party of someone who came to her party. I think there is no way to avoid having some hurt feelings over the years, but for me it made it worse that the parent wasn't open about what happened. I would try to migigate problems by sending invitations home and not discussing it at school, but would be honest about having a party and tell me dd not to act as if it is some huge secret thing - explain that you can't invite everyone and she won't be invited to everyone's. Good luck.
Old 05-03-2006, 12:12 PM

It has been my experiance that if you invite the whole class, only a hand full will come any how. Make sure they know to rsvp, invite them all!!! They really wont all come!!!