Help! Fun afterschool activities for 9 and 10 year-old boys! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 08-31-2006, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just found out I will be caring for my friends' 9 and 10 year old boys every day after school. I would like to plan some fun things for them to do and play with, but I don't know them that well yet. I am an Early Childhood Educator by trade, so I am stressed because I want to make these boys welcome- they aremoving here from away and starting a new school here next week!
Please just list all your ideas from toys, games, activities, trends among this age group as I am totally out of the loop!

Thanks dudelettes!
#2 of 11 Old 09-01-2006, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter

bump
#3 of 11 Old 09-01-2006, 08:03 PM

How about some games? Video, computer, and/or board type maybe. A movie? Baking something? Water fight? legos or K'nex or some other building set?

"The true measure of a man is how he treats a man who can do him absolutely no good."
peace.gif  Embrace the learning that is happening within the things that are actually happening!    
#4 of 11 Old 09-01-2006, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter

nak

Thanks, those are great ideas unschoolnma. Do, kids this age like plasticene?
I know I love it....i don't want to really progam them to death, they get enough of that at school.

Please keep the ideas coming:
#5 of 11 Old 09-02-2006, 12:39 AM

My nephew is 10 and when he isn't in front of the TV or a computer game he likes:
Chess
checkers
and a board game called Detour

The first rule of homeschooling: water the plants! :
#6 of 11 Old 09-02-2006, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks hipumpkin, I am going to look into that board game right now!

What are the trends with the 9-12 year old boy group? TV shows, literature, jewelry.... I thought we could make some cool stuff....
#7 of 11 Old 09-02-2006, 03:29 PM