Please help me and our 4 year old!!! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 02-01-2002, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time posting here and I really need some support and help. Our 4 year old has really gotten me. I struggle on a day to day basis with him. Our two boys are 18 months apart and Cameron has an uncontrollable urge to hit, punch or knock down Shea. He is very energetic and is always on the go.I have been told that he needs meds and also I was a "ridlin"(spell?) child myself. Although I was not 4 when put on it but I was on it for quite a few years. At any rate, Cameron has got me wanting to throw in the towel. He is a very lovable little boy and can be very good but all the other times he is either hitting or not listening. He laughes at me when I am correcting him. It just seems that he is so angry. Now, he is not starving for attention because he gets alot of it and it isnt negative attention. He gets alot of one on one. His pre-school teacher says he has a hard time keeping his hands to himself(not hitting though). I just feel like I am a failure as a mother that I cant get a grip on a 4 year old. I can get so mad at him and he will come right back at me and say "I love you mom" I dont want to hit him allthough I have but that is the absolutly last resort for me. I have tried everything there is to get a handle on this. Please give me any advice you can.Thanks so much

#2 of 5 Old 02-01-2002, 01:19 AM

Hi Angela,

I too have a very active, very physical 4 year old. I have a few suggestions for you, and hope that one or more will help.

First, we have noticed a very definate connection between Nick's behaivor and the amount of sugar he consumes. We limit processed sugar to a minimum. No candy, ice cream, syrup, sweet granola bars, fruit snacks, etc (unless it is a special occasion and we are prepared for the ensuing behaivor).