Mothering Forum banner

Explaining teen pregnancy?

861 views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  Ruthla 
#1 ·
My 6-year-old has a good grasp of how pregnancy occurs (although she is still suspicious of the penis part because she can't understand how her friend with two mums would bother with something that "stupid")

But now she is interested in knowing how a friend who got pregnant at 16 could have had it happen (our friend describes her pregnancy as unplanned but says her daughter is very wanted...)

She's brought it up several times, so obviously I'm not nailing it. Her main concern seems to be how to avoid being pregnant before she's ready - but the mechanics of birth control seem to be beyond her...

Any btdt stories on how to tackle this?

See less See more
#2 ·
I'm just going to ramble because I've had no real experience with it--

Maybe she thinks she could get pregnant, because she is "young" and someone she knows is "young" and pregnant?
Have you asked her what she thinks? Does she know she has to go through puberty (and loose her teeth and regrow them, etc, etc) before she even has to think she could possibly be pregnant?

Since she knows a lesbian couple with child(ren), I'm sure it makes it much more confusing in her head. She's only 6, old enough to understand, but imaginative enough to add her own spin. Maybe she's worried about being naked, changing at the swimming pool, and getting pregnant? Thinks that any nude physical contact could make her pregnant? (Wow, bathtime could be weird, too)...

Does she know you have to physically "be ready" to be pregnant?

#3 ·
I don't have much advise..

but we got our daughter a book about sex when she was six. it has comics and explains all of the 'technical' stuff, including puberty. it even touches on gay/lesbian relationships.