cheap gifts for 7 year old boy? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 10-17-2008, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My hubby is back in school full-time (and only works 6 hours a week). so we have NO money.

our nephew is turning 7 in a few weeks and i have no idea what to get him. the problem is that he is a spoiled little kid and doesn't appreciate anything he gets. so why bother spending money on him if he isn't going to be appreciative? i would love to make him something but i am not a very creative person.
i only have a soon to be 3 year old dd and a 10 month old son, so i have no experience in this, thats why i am asking you guys for ideas. i don't even know what 7 year old boys like nowadays. this kid likes TV and computer games (yuck!)
thanks!
#2 of 19 Old 10-17-2008, 04:38 PM

Soccer ball
Silly putty
Slinky
Card game (Uno, Old Maid, Go Fish)
Matchbox cars

Wife to a wonderful dh and mom to four beautiful kiddos, dd (3/04):, ds1 (1/06), ds2 (10/08), and ds3 (7/10)
#3 of 19 Old 10-17-2008, 04:40 PM

poor kid.

what about a little lego set? you can get some for like $10.
#4 of 19 Old 10-17-2008, 04:42 PM

I was also going to suggest one of those little boxed sets of lego.

It's a Delight-Filled Life.
 computergeek2.gif 

#5 of 19 Old 10-17-2008, 05:55 PM
AAK

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
This may or may not fly with some people, but my kids would love a box of scrap wood, a jar of nails and a hammer.

I have seen "construction sets" of this nature sell for quite a bit, but if you look around for a construction site and ask, I bet they would let you have end pieces, etc. At our dollar store you can get a basic hammer. A bag of nails is next to nothing at the hardware store. I would "box it in an old crate so that it could be carried around.

Amy

Mom to three very active girls Anna (14), Kayla (11), Maya (8). 
#6 of 19 Old 10-17-2008, 09:33 PM

magnifying glass (dollar store)
marbles