is it hard to learn to use a serger? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-05-2009, 12:23 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i am a totaly noob with my sewing machine but i am finding that i really love knits and i read everyplace that it is so much better to use a serger for knits. sergers seem to intimidating to me though. are they as scary and hard as they look? i don't find knits hard to sew or anything on my sewing machine and what i make looks ok so i won't be getting anything new for a little while anyways. i guess i am mostly asking out of curiousity. if i do at some point get a serger i won't have any friends who can help me i will have to learn everything on my own

mama to two amazing children son 10/27/07 and daughter 07/07/11

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-05-2009, 12:46 AM

I was intimidated too, but now I love, love, love my serger.

It's more that it's a pain to thread than it is difficult to use.

Single WAHM to 5yo DD, 2yo DS, and forever 7 week old angel DD.
Old 05-05-2009, 03:46 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonfroggy View Post
i am a totaly noob with my sewing machine but i am finding that i really love knits and i read everyplace that it is so much better to use a serger for knits. sergers seem to intimidating to me though. are they as scary and hard as they look? i don't find knits hard to sew or anything on my sewing machine and what i make looks ok so i won't be getting anything new for a little while anyways. i guess i am mostly asking out of curiousity. if i do at some point get a serger i won't have any friends who can help me i will have to learn everything on my own