What pattern companies do you like? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 18 Old 07-06-2009, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does anyone have any favorite pattern companies? I am just starting out and I want to make my dd some dresses. I like classic styles, dd likes full skirts that she calls dancie dresses. I am just not sure where to begin looking at patterns. Do you have favorite companies that are good for beginners to start out with. I need simple directions as I do better watching someone else instead of reading directions for spatial tasks. TIA

chicken3.gifdog2.gifcat.gifenergy.gif
#2 of 18 Old 07-06-2009, 08:34 PM

Kwik Sew is good for beginners IMO. Once you get used to that you should try some of the Euro patterns... I really love Ottobre.

Jenn: WOHM to a big girl (7/03), a medium girl (8/07), and a little girl (12/10)
#3 of 18 Old 07-07-2009, 09:25 AM

I agree w/the pp. KS is great for beginners. Also if you get the master pattern books like KwikSew for toddlers/children you have a bunch of options and you can basically create an entire wardrobe.
I have to be honest and say I like all patterns. I hate pattern drafting so when it's already done for me, I'm in heaven. I have a crazy huge pattern collection and many of the ones I have are from Big 4 companies. I've sewed for a long time and understand how to pick out the proper sizing and how to tweak it to fit whomever I'm sewing for so I don't have a prejudice against McCall or Butterick. I subscribe to Ottobre and love it too. Although I probably make more stuff from Big 4 patterns than out of Otto. Another pattern company I like for cute kid stuff is SewBaby.

Sabrina , mom to 4 fab kids!

#4 of 18 Old 07-07-2009, 11:19 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
KwikSew and Folkwear. KwikSew serves a wider range of sewing abilities than Folkwear. And their books give you more for your money.

http://www.kwiksew.com/default2.cfm

http://www.folkwear.com/