Do you sew your own clothes? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 09-17-2009, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If so, can I ask a few questions?

I am looking to sew my own clothes. I have weird proportions. I'm 5'3'', size 18, an have a 42G chest. So think petite, yet plus size proportions with a disproportionately larger top. Yea, getting RTW clothes is super fun.

Anyways, I've got some basic sewing experience and some pattern drafting experience. I think I can tackle skirts easily. However, tops? : Pants?: Dresses????:::

Is it harder to sew/fit those items?

Why did you start sewing your own clothes?

Do you use RTW patterns or draft your own?

I know sewing my own clothes will be more expensive than sale prices at Target (where I currently can afford to shop), but is it less expensive than, say Ann Taylor/more upscale clothing stores? The same?

Also, I am drooling over this skirt: http://www.denimskirts.com/sufllojesk.html

However, I'm hesitant to buy it because I can't try it on first. That, and I know it will most likely be too long for me. Anyone know of a similar pattern? Or is it just easier to buy it & modify it later?

I just finished drafting & sewing a mock up apron for my sis's birthday. It's a cute, 1950s style apron. It wasn't as hard as I thought it would be, even after adding on my own alterations/tweaks. So I'm feeling pretty confident right now.

Thanks!

Ami

Wife to dh, Mommy to my heavenly angel, J (06), and my earthly angels, S (07) and E (10)

#2 of 6 Old 09-17-2009, 02:45 AM

I'd buy it and if it's too long hem it. Just the cost of buying that much denim for a skirt your size will be a good chunk of money and sewing a lovely skirt like that with a zipper fly, belt loops, and such lovely curves will be a daunting task unless your a really good seamstress.
#3 of 6 Old 09-17-2009, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by feest View Post