Crafts for Christmas gifts that DD can make? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 10-20-2009, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Im looking for some cool gifts that my dd and i can make together for christmas. She s 3, but really quite artistic (she can draw people and spiders and flowers on her own) so i dont think anything advanced will be too hard for her, to atleast get involved in.

Any ideas? I did ornaments last year, and i wanted to do something diffrent this year. I was thinking frames for the grandparents with a cute pic in it, but for my aunts and uncles i need something that will be useful and fun. ANd maddie would enjoy helping with.

I have a serger and a sewing machine, but i am a total beginner sewer. I can knit or crotchet a little....like i can make a scarf LOL!

Any ideas? I was thinking maybe getting some christmas-y fabric and and sewing it up and adding rice inside and making little heating pads? She could help me fill it with rice and hand sew it closed?

Melanie- Mama to my super hero daughter superhero.gif bravely battling brain cancer. ribbongrey.gif ribbongold.gif  www.fightformaddie.com  and expecting 1sttri.gif 1/13!!!!

#2 of 9 Old 10-20-2009, 03:48 PM

How are your embroidery skills? Are you willing to learn? I love Soulemama's Family Portrait Book marks. I just did this for DH's birthday. DD drew a picture of him and I embroidered it onto a (much needed) apron. He loves it and DD is so proud

Pregnant and/or Breastfeeding since 2005
Mama to two girls: 5/06 and 3/09
#3 of 9 Old 10-20-2009, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodchick View Post
How are your embroidery skills? Are you willing to learn? I love Soulemama's Family Portrait Book marks. I just did this for DH's birthday. DD drew a picture of him and I embroidered it onto a (much needed) apron. He loves it and DD is so proud
OMG those are just SOOOOO cute! What a great idea! I LOVE it!