MacGyvering a nursing top with overall fasteners... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 11-30-2009, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
So I'm sick of wearing button-down tops. I was thinking I could use the claspy things off an old pair of overalls to make a "nursing bra"-type top - as in, unhook one side and pull the fabric under the breast to nurse. But the... rivet?... things on the overall bib aren't sewn on or anything, they seem to have been pushed or hammered through the fabric. Can I remove them somehow and reuse them, or do I need to buy new... thingies?

Also, any other ideas for nursing tops and dresses? My wardrobe seriously needs a revamp and I figure I'll be gestating or lactating for the foreseeable decades, so I may as well make everything nursing-friendly. I'm into steampunk... I'm also pretty new at sewing. And I miss wearing dresses (do you know how hard it is to find nursing-friendly dresses that aren't just super low-cut, which I don't like? HARD. I have one... and it barely "works").

I was thinking, a dress with pin tucks down each side of the bodice could conceal invisible zips for nursing slits, right? Can a zip be enclosed at the top (ie appear halfway down a seam, not at the top of a seam)? Is there any way to sew a zip on a curve, so I could hide it under the frill of a yoke? Are there any good, versatile nursing top/dress patterns out there that don't look hideous? WHY are they do hard to find???

If decomposition persists please see your necromancer.

#2 of 7 Old 12-01-2009, 02:26 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ah lots of questions!

You would need new rivets to hook your overall clips onto - or you could use buttons?

Have you thought about wrap tops? or customising t-shirts?