Failing at knitting--Questions - Mothering Forums

#1 of 13 Old 12-10-2009, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am taking a knitting class and it is not going well. For one, I'm a really bad beginner. As in, if knitting was an IQ test, I would fail.

My teacher I don't think it accustomed to such bad beginners.

I know how to cast on. I think it's called the English cast. She said we were to do 4 cast ons and then knit for a 7" length.

The knitting is not going well. I've been experimenting and have knitted some things but I keep getting more loops which result in a pyramid shape. I thought I was supposed to only ever have 4 from the original cast on.

I thought she told us when we transfer to the second needle to just slip it up and over and then knit in another thread on the second loop. I've tried doing that. I've tried not doing that and I still get more loops.

I also have trouble with my needles falling off and I don't know how to find my place again. I think I've tried 20xs to knit this 7" and the closest I've gotten is a 1" pyramid.

Any advice????

V

Happy Momma to DD (almost 3) Fall Coleslaw -- Simple Italian Stuffed Peppers -- - Fall Toddler Activities.- We Made a Play Kitchen Selling gently used books on all topics here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 13 Old 12-10-2009, 07:12 PM

Go to knittinghelp.com and watch their videos on how to knit. It's a lot easier to watch the video IMO than for me to try to explain it.

You're getting a triangle and holes because you're doing inadvertent yarn overs. It happens at the beginning. You'll learn how to avoid it in time.

I suggest rather than making nothing just to learn, start with something simple like a washcloth. If you make mistakes, it's not a big deal.

And your stitches are slipping off because you're not sliding them back far enough away from the tip, or you're not making them tight enough. Again, these are things you'll learn with practice.