Does anyone know a good tie dyer or just dyer? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 01-13-2010, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have no idea where to look and who to ask. I am a dance teacher and I need to dye white sweatshirts for a dance I am doing. I am just doing them solid colors of the rainbow. I was thinking of doing it myself but would rather just pay someone to do it for me. I have no idea where to begin to look though? Does anyone have any reviews of WAHM dyers?
#2 of 4 Old 01-13-2010, 02:37 PM

Rit dye works great. You can buy it at wal mart, maybe target, any craft store, joanns, michaels, ac moore, etc. It works really great and covers easily. http://www.ritdye.com/home.lasso

Doula & Nanny,  Momma to Hope, my angel baby 6/17/08, and Momma to be- to a little boy, EDD 3.13.13

#3 of 4 Old 01-13-2010, 03:04 PM

Yup, I used that very dye (RIT). It's easy enough that my mom had this be the main activity for my 11th birthday party. The girls came over and we tie-dyed t-shirts. (I did it at camp a different year too).

Homeschooling mama to 6 year old DD.

#4 of 4 Old 01-16-2010, 12:07 PM

As an experienced dyer I am going to have to respectfully poo-poo the RIT suggestions. Partly because it is an all-purposefully crappy dye and partly because there are better and simpler alternatives out there.

Your best choice would be a fiber reactive dye. Though fiber reactive dyes are made for natural materials, specifically cotton but I use it for my silks too, if you item has a mixed content i.e. cotton/poly, it will dye it too. Just not as vivid. There is no need to boil your project in a pot. Per ounce it is also cheaper than RIT.