Anyone suffer from YIS? (yarn inadequacy syndrome) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 04-27-2010, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello fellow yarn crafters-

My name is Julie and I have yarn inadequacy syndrome. I have been knitting for over 25 years, but just started in earnest (beyond garter stitch scarves) about 3 years ago. I started with Red Heart acrylic. Then I ventured to some Lion's brand cotton and wool. I have bought organic cotton for babies stuff. But that is about as far as I'll go. I'll buy a skein or two here or there at my LYS, but never enough to do a project. For my projects (more than 2 skeins) I always go to Michael's or another craft store.

My knitting is getting really good. (IMO ) But I hate posting it or showing it because I don't use cascadia or handspun or knit picks, or whatever the expensive yarn is. I don't want to say, well, this is TLC's cotton, or something like that. I feel like I am not an actual "knitter" because I don't use the "good stuff." Does this make sense?

Does anyone else feel this way?

Julieknit.gif, DP to modifiedartist.gif, mama to DD (7)dust.gif , and DS (5)joy.gif

#2 of 22 Old 04-27-2010, 03:46 PM

I just received my first order of Cotlin (cotton/linen blend) from Knitpicks. I'm making something special for my Mom's birthday and I finally decided to order some nice yarn for her.

Most of what I knit with is some kind of acrylic blend from Michaels, Joann's or AC Moore. I just can't justify the cost of the fancier yarns. Especially when knitting for my rambunctious little ones.

I also find achievement in using up the hand-me-down yarn that other 'failed' knitters pass on to me. Why buy new yarn when I can whip up some little things with the yarn I already have for free? It's a tricky balance for me.