Do Crocheted Wool Soakers Really Work? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 05-04-2010, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Forgive me for being a little skeptical, but I'm new to the whole CD thing. I crochet ALOT and would love to whip up some wool soakers for my babe, but not unless I know they actually will keep the wetness IN. I guess for some reason I just have trouble totally believing that moisture wouldn't escape because crocheted stitches tend to have more spaces than knit ones. I do not knit, and don't intend to anytime soon, so that's not an option! I know I could make some extra big and felt them, but then you run into the problem of sizing. I know that regardless, you have to lanolize the wool to make it moisture-resistant. But I'm needing a little bit more convincing that wetness would not still leak through the stitches. Am I just being silly?

Wife to my best friend partners.gif (8-7-04) and mama to my sweet Josiah James baby.gif (10-30-10)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 16 Old 05-04-2010, 02:49 PM

I only have a minute as I haven't had lunch yet but couldn't help but respond.
I was in the same boat as you several months ago but I bit the bullet and bought some inexpensive yarn to give it a go. I knit but the soakers should be one in the same. I made a few pair of longies for our new lo but didn't use them right away because I was skeptical. One day I just decided to try them and was so glad I did. I absolutely love wool! It's my go to dipe cover everyday.
Do they really hold the wetness in? If you use the proper wool, make the correct size, wash properly, and lanolize you will have no problems. I wash about once every couple weeks to a month and lanolize at the same time, of course. I have a wool wash bar for any poop that might escape. (fwiw, I've had this happen twice in 4.5 months.)

GL and hth!
#3 of 16 Old 05-04-2010, 03:15 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)