Why did my sewing machine's needle BREAK off?! - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 07-28-2010, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How is that even possible? Literally the sharp part just broke right off...now what do i do? I was sewing felt with elastic under it...was i supposed to do something differently? I'm new at the whole sewing machine thing...

me, dh and 2 boys = our family (oh and a cat...who is also a male...lol)
#2 of 12 Old 07-28-2010, 09:13 PM

The elastic was probably too tough for the needle. That has happened to me a few time when I was sewing thick material or elastic. You can out a new needle in and try going slower the next time.

treehugger.gifAngie(25) Birth Doula and wife to Army man Bob(25), mommy to...dust.gifMeadow Shae(6),energy.gifLily Rain(4)homebirth.jpg, and joy.gif Sage Ashlyn(3). jog.gifAndrew Houston(9/3/11)

#3 of 12 Old 07-28-2010, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by love4bob View Post
The elastic was probably too tough for the needle. That has happened to me a few time when I was sewing thick material or elastic. You can out a new needle in and try going slower the next time.
How do i change the needle?? EEK! I'm very intimidated by my sewing machine if you cannot tell!!! hehe

#4 of 12 Old 07-28-2010, 09:29 PM

Lol! It's simple.. on my machine it is at least. Did yours come with a manual? It will tell you in there what to do exactly. On mine there is a little screw that I loosen that just holds the needle in place. I unscrew it, and the old needle comes right out, I put the new needle in and tighten the screw back. It is the kind of screw that you can tighten by hand. Does that make any sense? lol.

treehugger.gifAngie(25) Birth Doula and wife to Army man Bob(25), mommy to...dust.gifMeadow Shae(6),energy.gifLily Rain(4)homebirth.jpg, and joy.gif Sage Ashlyn(3). jog.gifAndrew Houston(9/3/11)

#5 of 12 Old 07-28-2010, 09:40 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)