Questions about patterns, costume, Peter Pan - and all kinds of other things - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-05-2010, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
I didn't know how to title this! My daughter wants to be Peter Pan for Halloween and I am learning to sew. My mom is experienced, but I want to have some very clear ideas to give her because she tends to blow me off with "you can't do that" when it's something she doesn't like I have a very simple costume idea in my head, I am CERTAIN these patterns exist but I have no idea where to look or how to search. Mom can do some simple pattern drafting and wining it, but I'd like a back up just in case.

For the pants, I just want plain elastic waist pants, nothing fancy.

For the top, I want a very simple empire waist with a slight A line. Nothing complex.

I just have zero idea on where to look for children's patterns and this is my very first project. I don't even know how to work my machine so this is all learning and I want to go in with some kind of visual so I don't hear "you can't do that" for no good reason other than my "teacher" has something against empire waist.

Also, any good sights for simple children's patterns would be totally welcome! My daughter is nearly five, and the transition from little kid clothes to big kid clothes has been sad. I still drift around the toddler sections and kind of sigh. The fours and five doesn't fit her at all, she's just a big, tall kid but the big girl clothes are so grown up! My baby doesn't need jeggins!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 10-10-2010, 03:47 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello!

I don't post much here but sewing is something I know about!! OK-