Sewn Handprint Ornament - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-08-2010, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, every year we make a different kind of ornament with a handprint of our DS that we hand out to everyone.

This year I was thinking of making one by making an outline of his hand with cloth and sewing it together. Does that make sense? So it would be a cloth hand. I wasn't planning on stuffing it because I don't want it to be too heavy, but I know I'll need something inside to make it stiffer so the fingers won't fall over.

On one website for a different kind of ornament, they used cotton batting. The problem I have would be stuffing it inside the fingers of the cloth hand and if it would look alright.

I know some people use interfacing, but I've never used it before so I wasn't sure if it would work or how to use it.

Does anyone have any ideas? Please?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-08-2010, 08:01 PM

Heavy duty interfacing would be good. Just cut it out same shape as the fabric and sew the three together. That is probably what I would use since it would be the easiest thing to do I would think. That or plastic canvas they sell for needle projects but I think that might be a little harder to use (I don't think your machine would like sewing through that )

~Heather~ Mama to Miss E (1/07), Miss A (11/08), Mr.T (2/11) and Miss A (10/12) Expecting our newest blessing sometime late Sept/early Oct.. Wife to my Marine since 11/2005
Old 10-08-2010, 08:04 PM

I would also suggest interfacing.

Mama to three

Old 10-10-2010, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter

So interfacing would be the best. Is there a specific type of heavy duty interfacing? Anything I should look for?

Do I need to iron it afterwards?

Thanks!
Old 10-14-2010, 08:43 AM