Can you turn wool yarn back into roving? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 11-14-2010, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm just starting to learn about working with fibers, and I'm wondering if I had some extra wool yarn, could I turn it back into roving (like maybe by carding it?), so that I can use it for felting?

lady.gifMama to DS banana.gif(5) and DD broc1.gif(2)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 11-17-2010, 08:22 PM

I think it would depend on the type of yarn you have whether or not it would turn into roving easily.

For example, if you had single ply yarn that is loosely twisted together into yarn, then it would be a simple matter of using a pair of hand carders and untwisting and brushing the yarn back into roving.  It would take a lot of work but I think it would be do-able. 

If you had wool yarn that had several plies (strands twisted together), I think it would NOT be worth it to try to turn it back into roving.  Chances are you would be absolutely frustrated with the process and the results would not be satisfactory.

If you had wool yarn that you wanted to use for felting your best bet might be to knit it up and then felt the piece.  (I suggest knit vs. crochet as crochet uses up to 30% more yardage per relative area, and will result in a thicker fabric pre and post felting).

Mama to Emma (7) and Sarah (5)

#3 of 5 Old 11-18-2010, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks!

lady.gifMama to DS banana.gif(5) and DD broc1.gif(2)

#4 of 5 Old 11-21-2010, 09:16 AM

Hi,