Rooting individual yarn hairs on Waldorf doll? (picture added!) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 02-21-2011, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Can this be done? Would the hair end up too full for the doll's head? I've read that pulling the yarn through the skin fabric is difficult and seems like it could weaken the whole skin. What if I sewed individual yarn on with needle and thread? I don't like how the hair line of the crochet cap looks. Maybe I should do a smaller crochet cap and sew individual yarn to define the hairline in a more natural looking way. Looking for any tips or advice; I'm new at hair (I've chickened out and sewn caps on all my previous dolls!) This is for my baby girl's first birthday this spring. I'm using single ply handspun-by-a-friend, walnut-shell-dyed-by-me wool yarn so I want to get it right! I'm trying to emulate Ruprecht's handspun long hair on etsy (don't know if I'm allowed to link, but her dolls are lovely). Thank you!!!

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_GLZCrlk5P54/TOWYOtmpKHI/AAAAAAAABSQ/vkH83NUBbAk/s1600/Charlottemitpflanzengef%25C3%25A4rbtenHaaren1.jpg

eta: added picture of the look I'd like for my doll

#2 of 6 Old 02-21-2011, 08:51 AM
Administrator

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)

Yep, just take thread that matched the yarn and sew it on strand by strand.  Remember that it should be double the length of what you want the final finished length to be. I just did that on the first doll I made - though I have done other things with the same method.

Here she is:  

photo.JPG

I did individual strands around her front hairline, and then did the same going down the back part - since I knew I wanted her in pigtails. I could have done more on the back, but it still looks pretty good and her front hairline is perfect. :)

winner.jpg Adina knit.gifmama to B hearts.gif 4/06  and E baby.gif  8/13/12 (on her due date!) homebirth.jpg waterbirth.jpg