Should I buy a vintage Viking Husquarvana? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-12-2012, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everyone,

I am new to sewing. I took  a class a few weeks ago and we made a very basic apron. I loved it, and would like to learn more. I  a have been looking to buy a sewing machine but I've been waiting. I dont want to waste my money a cheap junky one and a $300 plus machine just isnt in our budget right now.

Well, today DH and I stopped by a hole in the wall thrift store and there was and old Viking Husquarvana. It is one of those machines that is screwed to a tablet (but looked like it could be unscrewed) The table itself was very nice too, solid  wood with lots of drawers. It appeared to be from the 1970's or 80's. It had the foot pedal but I didnt see a power cord. I didn't see what the model was. It was priced at around $60 (table included). It was clean and seemed to be in good condition but I wasnt sure if it worked and we didn't have a truck w/ us so I didn't get it. I am thinking that maybe that was a mistake. I've heard Husquarvanas are good machines so even if it has an issue it might be worth it to get it repaired right? Honestly, just the table looked to be worth the $60. It was good solid wood and had  flaps that come up on the sides for more working space.

I want to convince DH to go back tomorrow and take a better look at it w/ me. How can I test it. In case it does include the power cord, should I try to sew something. I still have trouble w/ threading the machine so this might be an issue...lol. Any advice would be much appreciated..Thanks!!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-13-2012, 11:29 AM

this is a tough one - for starters Husqvarna IS  a top of the line machine and yes, id expect to pay a lot more for it....

that being said - if it does need work - WHO are you going to take it to??