convert a 1 piece swim suit into a 2 piece? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 05-23-2012, 10:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)

Wondering if anyone's ever done this. I want to get dd a 2 piece so its easier to go to the bathroom, but I want it modest/covering her tummy. I'm having trouble finding one and am reaching the "if you want it done right, do it yourself" point! I was thinking of buying a 1 piece one size too big, cutting it, doing a short hem on the top and finishing the bottoms with FOE. I've never used FOE before. I tried poking around on google/pinterest to see if this has been done (SURELY I'm not the first to think of this?) but I can't find anything. If there's any mistakes I might make that I haven't thought through yet, I want to see what those are and figure out how to prevent them before I buy a brand new swim suit and cut it up!

dd (7) ds (5), ds (2) &3rdtri.gif hbac.gif and the furbabies cat.gifZeus, Dobby, Luna, & Ravenclaw
#2 of 9 Old 05-24-2012, 07:31 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I have no idea- other than I would try it first on a garage sale or thrift store suit.  I think in theory it should work though :)  I would bind both edges in FOE- just don't stretch the elastic on the top.

Iowaorganic- mama to DD (1/5/06), DS1 (4/9/07), DS2 (1/22/09), DS3 (12/10/10), DD2 (7/6/12) and a new kid due in early 2014

#3 of 9 Old 05-24-2012, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter

Yeah, thats smart. I think I'll practice on the swim suit she has now thats getting a little tight on her. Then buy a new one. I think if I size up it'll add some length but still be plenty snug around the circumference. binding the top and bottom would definitely prevent me from losing length. Maybe if I gave some very gentle subtle stretching to the FOE around the top it would prevent it from riding up? We're going to Great Wolf Lodge soon so some waterslides are happening :)