help with quilt idea - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 04-11-2013, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi there
Im a very beginner...as in I've never made a quilt before. My nana was an amazing quilter (snuggling up in one she made right now) and shes my inspiration. What I would like to do is cut pieces of my little girls special baby clothes, blankies and receiving blankets and make a quilt with them.

Could you give me some advice on the easiet way/ mhod to do this...maybe a link to a tutorial as well. Hopefully this is possible I think it would be a great momento.

Thanks in advance smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 04-12-2013, 09:08 PM

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)

A block quilt is the easiest to make. I'd never quilted before but wanted to make one for my son when he was born, and used a pattern from Cloud9 - http://cloud9fabrics.blogspot.com/2011/08/5x5-quilt-revisited.html. You could literally make it in a day if you were motivated and had the time. It's a great beginner tutorial. 

Apartment Farm - the chronicles of my cooking, gardening, crafting and other such things. 

#3 of 5 Old 05-05-2013, 08:55 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

I'm working on this right now. 

What I did was iron and starch the clothes and then sew them onto base blocks of muslin.  Each block is kind of a crazy-quilt style.  I'm almost finished with the top; I haven't started the actual quilting yet.

I also had someone reccommend a sort of interfacing or stabilizer.  Unfortunately I CANNOT find that post.  Knits can be tricky because they stretch.  And a lot of baby clothes are knits.  So if you can back it with something, you can avoid the pulling/stretching/bunching issues.  Someone at a fabric store should be able to help you find the right kind.