Anyone want to talk soap? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 12-06-2001, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Anyone want to talk soaps? It's my newest hobby and I'm having a blast. I'm also starting to sell them to friends and the friends of friends...I'm also open to suggestions about starting a side business.

Any soapers out there? I know there are!
#2 of 14 Old 12-06-2001, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter

Oh, hey I didn't see the Craft Forum, I'm posting over there on this topic.
#3 of 14 Old 12-07-2001, 01:32 AM

still curious to know ho w you package?
#4 of 14 Old 12-07-2001, 01:24 PM

I'm very new to it but I love soaping!!!
I've started with making x-mas gifts but I would love to get into it as a side business. Don't know where to start though!
I've found two sites that sell M&P base that has no Propolyne Glycol or Sodium Laural Sulfate (sp?) Aquarius Aromatherapy Soap and Craftcave. I haven't recieved the Craftcave order yet so I can't really compare them.
So are you guys melting in the microwave or double boiler? I have tried both methods and the base seems to cool off so quick after I remove it from the heat that I have trouble mixing anything in. I'm thinking of trying a metal pan in the double boiler. Happy crafting!!
Delania
#5 of 14 Old 12-10-2001, 11:35 PM - Thread Starter

I'm using the microwave to melt the melt & pour. Some day I hope to learn to make it from scratch, but I'm a huge klutz and am scared to do it!

Nursing Mother, I bought soap molds but have found that I really like using skinny bread pans the best. It makes a thick 1 1/2 inch x 1 1/2 x 4" bar - quite a handful, I get six bars and two thin end pieces out of each loaf. Plus they are easier to wrap than molded soaps in a variety of shapes! And I hand paint the labels - while I watch television. I spread them all over my living room floor to dry - can you tell I don't have kids yet, lol?