Gauge Swatch - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2004, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
 
Green4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Big D little A double L A-S!
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Should my gauge swatch always be in stockinette stitch, even if the garment is knitted in garter? It doesn't make sense to me that the gauge would be based on a stitch not used in the pattern.

Also, I know that garter stitch is all knit and stockinette is knit one row, purl one row, but am I right in remembering that it is reversed for circular needles?

TIA!
Green4God is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-06-2004, 03:21 PM
 
puddingpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Your pattern should give you the desired gauge for the pattern you'll be working in (whether it be stockinette, garter, cables, etc.).

Stockinette stitch is so easy on circulars -- just keep knitting every row (you never need to purl!). It makes it really fast.

Happy knitting!

Kimberly: blogging wife to Todd and work-at-home-struggling-with-work/life-balance adoptive mama to Adam (2005) and Leah (2008)
puddingpop is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:28 PM
 
yllek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central coast CA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green4God
Should my gauge swatch always be in stockinette stitch, even if the garment is knitted in garter? It doesn't make sense to me that the gauge would be based on a stitch not used in the pattern.
I've seen some patterns with incredibly complex stitch patterns base its gauge on a stockinette swatch, but I don't see why that would be necessary for garter stitch. However, if the pattern specifies that the gauge is based on stockinette, do the stockinette swatch; otherwise, I would just do the swatch in garter stitch.

Quote:
Also, I know that garter stitch is all knit and stockinette is knit one row, purl one row, but am I right in remembering that it is reversed for circular needles?
Yep. If you're knitting garter stitch in the round, you need to knit for a round, then purl for a round.

Kelly
yllek is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
 
Green4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Big D little A double L A-S!
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So at least this question doesn't matter for me right now because by knitting every round on my circulars I'm knitting stockinette. Thanks for the responses!
Green4God is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:00 PM
 
pageta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Knitting stockinette in the round gets a different gauge than knitting stockinette flat - I learned the hard way. Most people knit tighter than they purl, so when you knit in the round, you get more sts/in than when you knit flat. Garter gauge is typically 1 st/1 row so if you pick up sts on the side, you pick up 1 st per row; stockinette, on the other hand, will have 5.5 sts/7 rows over 4 inches (for example) which does not work out to a 1/1 ratio like garter. So it's very important to knit your gauge swatch on the type of needles (flat/circular) and the stitch that you will be using.

Tana, wife to Steve (5/02), mom to Ben (7/03), Joey (10/06) and Caroline (9/09)
pageta is offline  
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off