Crochet winter hat patterns for bulky yarn? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 08-19-2004, 01:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Can anyone help me out here? I am trying to crochet some hats for a charity drive and I bought some bulky yarn. It seemed like a good idea at the time :LOL Now I'm looking online and can't seem to find many hat patterns for thick yarns.

I need some easy patterns because even though I've been crocheting for something like 25 years I've never graduated past beginner :LOL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 08-19-2004, 03:25 AM

What about doing in rounds for a few rows and then going even? Ok...I doubt that made sense to anyone but me..lol..let me explain:

You said thick yarn..like woolease thick and quick or something like that? Here's a quick pattern..I know there are ones out there like this, so I"m not copying or anyting, just pullling it out of my head so to speak...

Ch 2, 4sc in second ch from hook
2sc in each st around. 8 sc
*2sc in firs sc, sc in next* around 12 sc.
*2 sc in first sc, sc in next 2 sts* around.
*sc in first 3 sts, 2sc in next st* around.

Keep increasing by one until it is wide enough then work even until it's long enough or too long then you can roll up the bottom...LMK if any of that makes sense..I'm pretty tired here..LOL

Here's a GREAT site for FREE patterns....I don't have anything to do w/the site, I just love it..and the lady who does it (Martha) is great as well.

http://home.inreach.com/marthac/altlinks.html
#3 of 10 Old 08-19-2004, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter

Crochetmama your name is a breath of fresh air in this board full of knitters :LOL (no offence to knitters it's just lonely sometimes being a crocheter here!).