Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (http://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Arts & Crafts (http://www.mothering.com/forum/66-arts-crafts/)
-   -   When can you teach a child to knit? (http://www.mothering.com/forum/66-arts-crafts/230068-when-can-you-teach-child-knit.html)

MangoMamma 12-27-2004 12:31 PM

My 3.5 dd is starting to like doing crafts. When can I start teaching her how to knit or crochet. I'm a beginner too so maybe I'm just getting ahead of myself.

Knittin' in the Shade 12-27-2004 12:33 PM

I taught my (now 5.5) year old when he was about 3 - 3.5. We started with finger knitting, then spool knitting, and he moved to real sticks and string (what he calls needles and yarn, LOL) when he was about 4.5, I think. You just have to have LOTS of patience

Jenmama 12-27-2004 07:35 PM

I was going to suggest the finger knitting, too. In Waldorf schools, they beging with finger knitting around kindergarten and start knitting in first or second grade. After knitting they start crochetting.

Ellien C 12-27-2004 07:46 PM

I think finger knitting as early as 4. I know that in the middle ages, girls as young as 4 could use a drop spindle. I don't think you're getting ahead of yourself, as long as your knot attached to the outcome. My 2 year old got an embroidery hoop with thread and needle for christmas. She can stick the needle in and pull it out. Sometimes she doesn't pull the thread all the way and leaves a loop though.

khrisday 12-27-2004 08:16 PM

I woudl stick with fingerknitting with one so little. I taught both my dd and my nephew to knit at 5.

dingosmate 01-02-2005 09:32 PM

Hi, I'm fairly new here, and I'm interested in teaching my 3yo finger knitting. I myself don't know how to kint, so I will be learning with him. Could some of you recommend a website that teaches finger knitting?

Lexi

lorijds 01-04-2005 01:41 AM