need advice for sewing a new bouncy seat cover - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 2 Old 09-27-2002, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first time posting in this thread...I'm expecting my first baby at the beginning of December, and a friend gave me some great 'basics'--one of which is a great 'bouncy seat'. The only problem is that the 'seat' part that slips over the 'frame' is ugly! LOL. It has a typical juvenial pattern (on a white polyester background) that is really an eyesore. The 'seat' part slips right off the frame for washing, and I took it off last night to see how it was made and came to the conclusion that I could probably re-make it using a much more comfortable and attractive fabric.

Have any of you 'reupholstered' baby items. I also received a carseat with the detachable 'baby bucket' with the same problem, and I'd love to reupholster that as well.

Here are my questions:
  • Will I be doing myself a disservice by using natural fibers? Do these items need to be fireproof? Is there any way to fireproof fleece (poly), wool, velour or terry?
  • Is this worth doing?
  • What tips do you have for fabric, batting, construction, etc?

Thanks,
all the best,
Victoria
#1 edd: 12/04/02
#2 of 2 Old 10-12-2002, 02:43 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)