Does Dylon need a fixer? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2005, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
 
ashleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Alabama
Posts: 1,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I bought some dylon dye at the fabric store and it says nothing on the package about using a fixer. It simply says "Permanent Fabric Dye" on the label, and directions for dyeing on the back only mention adding salt to the dye bath. Is the fix (soda ash?) mixed in already? Or should I presoak in a soda ash mixture just to be sure? Would it do any harm? I googled for an answer and I found a couple of sites that mention a Dylon fixer that's sold separately, but you'd think the package I have would say something about it if it was needed.
Help please!
ashleep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2005, 01:35 PM
 
lovingit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been using Dylon and have not had to add an added fixer...then again, I might be doing it wrong too! LOL

In any case, I have been dying items and have washed them many many times and the colors are just as rich as when I dyed it.
lovingit is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 02:23 PM
 
ma2maya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dy-er's Paradise
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you are using the "cold water" dyes they are fiber reactive dyes that require an activator for the dye to react/fix to the fabric. That being said and never having used Dylon but seen it/read about it, I think everything needed to make the dye work is contained in the mix. So your all good especially since lovingit has done well with it

Kathy

Desert Dyeworks Hey, we like color and silk!
Check out our 10% multiple items discount!
ma2maya is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 05:45 PM
 
CarrieMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alberta/Saskatchewan
Posts: 8,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have some bibs soaking in cold water Dylon dye right now.

There was the dye package and the fix both in the box that I bought. I filled the sink with the cold water, then added the dye to hot water and put it in the cold water, then put the fix and some salt in more hot water and added that to the cold water then added the bibs.

The package did not say that the fix was included, but it is.
CarrieMF is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 09:58 PM
 
Hayes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The newer packages have the soda ash mixed in!
Hayes is offline  
Old 10-04-2013, 05:22 AM
 
Rahere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Mordant(fixer) opens the fibres up before dying so you get a truer colour. That's why it's used in the mix when dying: if you do so later, it's better than nothing, but not as good as doing it at the time.

Rahere is offline  
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off