Sewing machines for use in the US and Europe? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 of 5 Old 06-24-2005, 04:04 AM - Thread Starter
 
merpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 14,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Do you have to get a different machine to use in Europe or overseas? You know, with the electricity difference? Or can a machine you have here work there? Or something like that?

Does this question make any sense to anyone but me?
merpk is online now  
#2 of 5 Old 06-24-2005, 06:35 AM
 
boingo82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: A new-to-us house!!
Posts: 10,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't know if the whole machine's different, or you just need a different power cord/adapter thingy. But yes I understand what you mean.
boingo82 is offline  
#3 of 5 Old 07-20-2005, 02:23 AM
 
santina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The plug is different in Europe. The power is also different, I think it is 220 instead of 110, but I'm not positive. Many things will work in both places if you change the power cord. For example, when I lived in Germany, we just had to change the plug for our laptop. If you want I can ask dh, he would know.
santina is offline  
#4 of 5 Old 07-22-2005, 12:48 AM
 
BinahYeteirah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am not sure what the voltage is here in Australia (maybe 220 like Europe, but I think we have different plug shapes from there, too). I have an American serger that I must use a combination adaptor/voltage converter (cost $60) with to use. Just make sure you don't get only the plug adaptor if the voltage needs converting as well. Some appliances can run on more than one voltage (such as our computer) and will only need a new power cord or plug adaptor. Others are made to work with only one type of voltage, so the voltage must be converted as well. If you don't use a converter with these types of appliances, the appliance can be ruined or a hazard created. I know-- that's how I fried our nice cordless phone. :
BinahYeteirah is offline  
#5 of 5 Old 07-23-2005, 10:32 PM
 
Katie Bugs Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have an Elna sewing machine that was made in Switzerland. It has a switch that lets it run on 220 current (like in Europe) or 110 current (like in the US.) My machine is 30 yo so I don't know for sure if the new ones have the same feature, but they might.
Katie Bugs Mama is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Drag and Drop File Upload
Drag files here to attach!
Upload Progress: 0
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Mothering Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off