making fitteds from prefolds? - Mothering Forums
Arts & Crafts > making fitteds from prefolds?
littlehawksmom's Avatar littlehawksmom 08:20 PM 09-13-2005
Is there a pattern to turn a prefold into a ftted, with velcro or snaps?

Sophiasmomma's Avatar Sophiasmomma 10:17 PM 09-13-2005
Do you mean prefitteds?? If so then heres a link

http://www.diapersewing.com/prefold_to_fitted.htm

then you can either leave the top open and put hidden snaps on or you can finish it up and then add velcro
littlehawksmom's Avatar littlehawksmom 11:01 PM 09-13-2005
thank you. that's exactly what I needed. unfortunately, i don't have a serger, but as would also like to make some wipes and mama pads, maybe i could have it all done for me somehow...
Jes'sBeth's Avatar Jes'sBeth 02:32 AM 09-14-2005
You can get your prefolds turned into prefitteds at Grow Me a Rainbow and perhaps other places... I've never done this but had considered it so I have no experience with GMAR, I just know that she will do the conversion for you.

HTH!
perditafoster's Avatar perditafoster 06:01 PM 09-14-2005
Just wanted to say that this pattern is great, even if you don't have a serger. I do everything up until the serging step, including putting in leg elastic, then I zig zag the edges of the diaper, then I bind the whole shebang with fold-over-elastic. Don't try to make the FOE the leg elastic, because it's not strong/stretchy enough...You could probably use a thin strip of fleece to bind the diaper as well. Anybody try that?
rowena___.'s Avatar rowena___. 07:46 PM 09-14-2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by perditafoster
Don't try to make the FOE the leg elastic, because it's not strong/stretchy enough...
i disagree, if you use diaper FOE it works just fine, i have done it dozens of times:

http://rowena.typepad.com/rostitcher...s_quick_a.html
(click on pictures to see enlargements)

Quote:
You could probably use a thin strip of fleece to bind the diaper as well. Anybody try that?