Can a novice make diapers? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 09-26-2005, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all! I'm a sewing novice, as in, I just learned to use a sewing machine last week...

I'm wondering if I should even try to make diapers at this point. Or should I just stick to more simple projects right now?

I've been embellishing prefolds. Basically just sewing pretty fabric down the center panel... I've also trimmed a couple of them and sewn the 'cut-off' part in as a doubler.

So, what do all you experts think??
#2 of 16 Old 09-26-2005, 07:08 PM

I'm definitely no expert, but I think even someone new to sewing could sew a diaper. I have the Very Baby AIO pattern and I think the directions would be simple enough for a novice to follow. The only part I found to be a real challenge was the elastic because I hadn't done a whole lot of elastic sewing before.

I think you should give it a try. Everyone's first diaper is an adventure, but it doesn't take much to catch on and you'll soon be addicted like I am!

HTH!
#3 of 16 Old 09-26-2005, 07:33 PM

You can! I had not used my sewing machine in over 10 years (and even then I just sewed some curtains) and I started embellishing prefolds like you a few months ago. Then I bought the Darling Diaper pattern and my first diaper out was great! That pattern is super easy and I used things I bought from Walmart (except the Aplix which I ordered on-line).

I think diapers are pretty easy to sew and I just started last week. In fact, I would still be sewing some if I did not have sewing machine issues. Darn machine had problems, I took it apart, and now it is in pieces.

Don't spend a lot of money on fabric at first. I bought some microfleece from JoAnns and fleece from Walmart (you can buy it by the yard or buy blankets) and it is costing me less than $1/diaper (even with Aplix). And these are nice fleece pocket diapers.

Do it! You won't be disappointed!