waldorf dolls vs. other cloth dolls - Mothering Forums

#1 of 25 Old 11-28-2005, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was ready to order a couple Waldorf dolls for my two daughters when I went to Pottery Barn and saw their dolls. I know there are differences (besides the $50 price difference) so explain to me the benefits of getting a Waldorf doll over a Pottery Barn doll.

I love to support WAHMs, but are there more reasons?

http://ww1.potterybarnkids.com/cat/p...t%5Cfthm%2Fhme
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 25 Old 11-28-2005, 08:08 PM

This is a subject that is very near and dear to me. I want to mention that I am a professional soft toy designer, and I have worked in the business for over 20 years. I have seen a lot of toy and doll trends come and go, but I can tell you that there is nothing like the response of a young child when they first hold a Waldorf doll. The warming sensation that comes as a result of the combination of wool stuffing and cotton knit skin creates a bonding affect like no other. If properly constructed, the doll has a weight and firmness to the limbs and a hard head, just like a real child. The simple facial features allow the doll to resemble the full range of human emotion, and not just the disturbing fake smile of most dolls. At age thirteen, my dd still cherishes her "Sally" a 16" Waldorf companion that she received for her fifth Christmas, whereas all the other dolls have gone to the Goodwill bin. If you make the investment in a doll of this kind for your children, they will need no other.