Favorite soap recipe? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 12-21-2005, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just made my first batch of soap this week and can't wait to do it again. So, for all you soapers out there, please share your favorite recipe(s)!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 17 Old 12-22-2005, 05:53 PM

:
#3 of 17 Old 12-29-2005, 09:02 PM

it depends on what you want from the soap really. different oils yield different types of soap. i like soap that is not rock hard, not slimey, and makes big fluffy bubbles. some people like smaller bubbles and a perfectly hard bar.

so, what do you like in a soap? that really will determine what recipe works best for you.
#4 of 17 Old 01-05-2006, 11:04 PM - Thread Starter

I've never used homemade soap before so I'm not sure what I would want. Since I'm used to commercial bars, I think I would prefer a rather hard bar. I don't know what else I want. I guess that's why I was wondering what other people like best. After I try a couple of recipes, I'll probably have a better idea what I want. Right now I'm just looking for something "tried and true" that other people like well.
#5 of 17 Old 01-07-2006, 11:04 PM

http://www.millersoap.com/

has many, many recipes, and they comment on each one (saying if it is hard, lathers a lot,...)
#6 of 17 Old 01-07-2006, 11:06 PM

:

Mama to 9 so far:Mother of Joey (20), Dominick (13), Abigail (11), Angelo (8), Mylee (6), Delainey (3), Colton (2) and Baby 8 and Baby 9 coming sometime in July 2013.   If evolution were true, mothers would have three arms!

#7 of 17 Old 01-10-2006, 07:57 PM

I have made 5 batches so far. I love them all equally. Actually, only 1 is fully cured but I have cheated and used a sliver from each one already.

millersoap is where I did most of my reading, along with www.thesoapdishforum.com