Has anyone written a guide to choosing fabrics? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 01-10-2006, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Has anyone written an in-depth guide to choosing fabrics for diapers? If not, someone should!

I'm sitting here trying to buy fabric and I don't know what to buy. I'm new at sewing and there's so much I don't know. I mean, things like...Are there fabrics I shouldn't use together for some reason? (my grandmother thought I was crazy for making a diaper with a woven outer and knit inner...I don't understand why ) What's most absorbant? How many layers of which fabrics should I use? What fabrics are nice and comfy for inners? What kind of fleece is that nice white fleece in Fuzzi Bunz? What doesn't work or doesn't last? What stains badly or tends to not stain? Can I use any cotton, for example: quilter's cotton? And even things like...help a beginning sewer choose what machine needles to use on different fabrics and number of layers. (ok...not about fabric exactly, but I am so confused about that!)

And those are just some of the questions I have! So...anyone know of a good guide to choosing fabrics? Or anyone up to the challenge of writing one?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 01-11-2006, 08:10 PM

You have some good questions here! I'd like to know the answers too!

I am also in search for Fuzzi Buns like fabric because I wanna make pocket diapers and I think I'v read somewhere here that Fabrite sells that kind of fabric. So I did contacted them and they confirmed that they do sell 1 mil PUL fabrics. They asked me what kind of prints I'd like and I have not heard from them back yet (2 days ago) so I am still waiting for their answer.

The inside of Fuzzi Buns is MM microfleece I think or any microfleece will do IMO. And there you go!