Fabric addicts: don't read this thread! =) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 01-26-2006, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Maybe you already know about it, but I'm just learning about bamboo. It seems to be the perfect fabric!

I'm told it's softer than cotton, almost like silk or cashmere; it's anti-microbial, super-absorbent, quick-drying, grows without chemicals, and is the most renewable of the natural fibers. Best of all, it's not that expensive!

Here's some links about it:

http://dld123.com/about/about.php?id=A30

http://noovoodoo.net/pure_organic_ap...boo_fabric.php

http://lcweave.com/bamboo_fabric.htm

There are a couple of Yahoo groups that have bamboo co-ops going on right now, that's how I learned about it. But, the minimums are high, so I'm trying to spread the word. Wanna give it a try?

The Fabric Farm is running co-ops for 100% bamboo in french terry and french terry fleece.

ClothEssentialCoop is running co-ops for bamboo/cotton blends in fleece and french terry and bamboo/organic cotton blends in velour, jersey and interlock.

I'm going to try some of the 100% bamboo and the bamboo/oc blends, not just for diapers, but for yummy jammies and clothing for the fam.

If you're interested, spread the word! These will be custom orders, so we have to get around 500-600 yds ordered before the mill will make it for us. I think we're about 1/3 of the way there in most of the fabrics.

Good to the earth, good to baby's bottom, good to my wallet!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 01-26-2006, 06:49 PM

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
So does anyone know how bamboo compares to hemp in absorbancy and trimness? I know there are bamboo diapers out there - I've seen hyenas talk about them. I just didn't pay that much attention at the time, since there wasn't a source of bamboo around.

Mama to Tornado Boy (6/04), The Brute (11/06), and Mischief (05/09)... expecting in February '15