Janome My Lock 234D Serger - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-15-2006, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
A lady is town has this serger for sale.

Any reviews on it? I've heard Janome is a good brand, and I've seen some sites call this model an "industrial serger". Here's a link to a site that appears to be selling it: http://www.thomassewing.com/machines/mylock234d.html

Any clues what's a fair price for this "barely used" serger that's about 5 years old? The seller bought it used 4 years ago for CA$400. The owner before that barely used it. It sounds like it might be a good idea to get the machine serviced. I'm yet to see it, but I'd certainly be interested in seeing it in action before committing to anything.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm a complete newbiew to sergers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 05-15-2006, 01:16 PM

I don't know if this helps, but I have the 634D , and I love it! I purchased it brand new, about ten years ago for $700.00, and it has taken a real beating over the years. It is still trouble free. I mostly sew garment weight fabrics, and lightweight silks, and chiffons, using a lot of metallic thread for decorative edgings, and I like a nice tight "Merrow" type stitch, so I use it in the 3 thread capacity almost exclusively. This model does both 3 or 4 thread overlock, and has differential feed. It makes a beautiful decorative edging. I am a big fan of Janome/New Home brand of sewing machines. HTH
#3 of 8 Old 05-15-2006, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter

Yes, that does help $700 Wow! If I had that kind of money now, I'd probably just get myself the Babylock Imagine (the machine does the threading that's the one thing I fear with a serger).