How do you like to finish seams? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 08-01-2006, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I'm new to sewing, and I'm realizing that my seams are a mess.
I do not have a serger.
Do you always finish your seams, or does it depend on the fabric?
How do you like to finish them?
Thanks!
#2 of 15 Old 08-01-2006, 12:56 PM

For most things, I just zig-zag over the raw edges. If it's something that's going to get a lot of abuse, I flat-fell the seams.
#3 of 15 Old 08-01-2006, 01:51 PM

I would serge them if I had a serger. Right now, I just leave them raw because I make play clothes with cheap cotton fabric. Nothing fancy.
#4 of 15 Old 08-01-2006, 01:59 PM

I trim them with pinking shears.
#5 of 15 Old 08-01-2006, 02:29 PM

Before I got my serger I did french seams when I could, also have a pair of pinking shears I used. My machine does have a mock overlock stitch I have used when my serger was in teh shop.

I love to use the serger though. Really easy to sew up knits.
#6 of 15 Old 08-01-2006, 04:19 PM

It depends on the fabric and the cut of the pattern, how the finished seam would lay.

I really like french seams and do those when I can - I like that absolutely clean finish. I also like jean seams (I think these are also called flat-fell).

Sometimes I zig-zag the edges with no other finishing; other times, I press the edges before zig-zagging so the raw edge is more hidden (this depends on how much the fabric will fray, for me). Sometimes, I will do a modified french seam and tuck the raw edges in and zig-zag them shut; sometimes I will just zig-zag the two edges together and trim close to that.