Does anybody here hand sew? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 04-04-2003, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
As in, make an actual garment hand sewing only? I know people do little things still, but I really feel like hand sewing is a dying art! I am trying to hone my skills, and right now my 12 1/2 yr old is sewing herself a simple skirt to wear to a Ren Faire....

anybody else into hand sewing???

~Anne-Marie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-04-2003, 08:36 PM

I just fininshed hand quilting my first quilt.
Old 04-04-2003, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter

cool! Did you teach yourself or take a class? We are self taught here, but hoping to find a mentor!

Blessings,
Anne-Marie
Old 04-05-2003, 01:23 AM

I taught myself using the Fons and Porter book called, "the complete quilters guide"

I'm totally into quilting now. I started quilting in december and I've made 5 quilts already (well, 2 are not quite finished yet, almost!!)
Old 04-05-2003, 11:19 AM

Yeah Pumpkin, it is so nice to see other quilters out there. I've been quilting for years. My grandmother taught me, she did piece work and had a quilting frame hanging in her living room. When I was young she would give me scraps and a threaded needle, after several years she let me work along side her. All of her quilts were handsewn.. it wasn't until I was an adult and took a course with Georgis Bonesteel did I learn to machine quilt. I do use the machine for piecing blocks, but I still handsew my applique and hand quilt my tops.
Anne Marie, you are right ... it is a dying art. They have machines that embrodier... very convient and very sad.
Old 04-05-2003, 03:01 PM