drying lavender - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 06-06-2003, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How do you dry lavender? and do you use the leaves and/or
the flowers? I know the leaves are the fragarent part but
the flowers are the colorful part. Do you use both?

Can I do other herbs the same way?

please don't think these are stupic Q's...i'm a newbie
in the herb department.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 12 Old 06-06-2003, 10:16 PM

I tie my lavender off with a twist tie just below the blossoms and then pop them into a brown lunch bag. After they are dry I pull off the blossoms, leaves & cut up all the stems (they are fragrant too) and use them as needed for scenting rice socks or bean bags, or dream pillows. If you are drying more leafy herbs you can lay them out on flat baskets out of the sun. I like to dry my herbs in baskets on top of the fridge because it is out of the light and a warm, dry spot. You can also dry lavender in baskets if its a very tight weave, so the blossoms don't all fall through. Sometimes i have so much lavender that i just fill vases with them fresh with no water & just let them dry like that. I am in a very arrid climate & haven't had any trouble with mold. Most herbs can be tied & hung to dry in a place out of the sun. I don't just tie & hang the lavender because the blossoms do fall off very easily once dry and I like to catch them all in bag or basket. Good luck herbing! Let me know if you have any more ??'s! I LOVE to 'talk herbs'! Laura
#3 of 12 Old 06-07-2003, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter

thank you so much!!!!!!!!

Why not dry in the sun????
What is a rice sock?
#4 of 12 Old 06-07-2003, 04:11 AM

The rational behind not drying herbs in the sun is the slower you dry them the more scent, flavor & nutrients are preserved in the herbs.