Wool Yarn and Knitting Pattern Sources - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 06-10-2003, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I'm a regular lurker on some forums here ... I'm sure you will have good sources for yarn and patterns.

Online Yarn Sources - I'm somewhat new to knitting and need help knowing what yarn to buy. I'm looking for a good source of nice yarn to use for some of my ideas below. The yarn can be plain cream because I'll dye it. I have only one source locally and it is expensive I think.

Pattern Needs - diaper cover/soaker, felted carry-everything purse/bag, summer baby hat. I wish I could find somewhere that reviewed patterns before I buy - I'm not experienced enough to figure out that a pattern is bad and I need clear, explicit directions.

Any input??
#2 of 4 Old 06-10-2003, 03:01 PM

I bought the LTK soaker pattern and am using Lions Brand Fisherman wool yarn for it. I got the yarn at Hancock fabrics for $10. Which I thought was a lot back when I bought it but after visiting a yarn store to buy some yarn to make a sweater I think that was a pretty good price!

For the other items you want to make, maybe you can find some books at your public library? I have been finding some great books through the library and am planning to buy a couple to keep, but if there's just one pattern you want from a book you could photocopy it, that way you don't have to spend a lot of money on a pattern that you end up not liking.

And as for yarn, I'm sure there are a lot more experienced knitters out there who could offer better solutions but you could probably get a good deal on yarn on Ebay and there's a site I've been eyeing www.nakedsheep.com that seems to have decent prices and free shipping. I've never ordered anything from there yet though.

But if you choose patterns first you will probably have a better idea of what weight/type of yarn you need.

HTH!

DS 4/2002 REPlaySkateboard04HL.gif