"Cardigan for Merry" KAL!! - Mothering Forums
1 2  3  ... Last
Arts & Crafts > "Cardigan for Merry" KAL!!
Megs_BK's Avatar Megs_BK 01:53 PM 07-02-2007
OK, folks, I'm jumping in and starting the KAL for the "Cardigan for Merry." The pattern and instructions are in two places:

First, the general sweater instructions:

http://annypurls.blogspot.com/2006/1...-merry_28.html

(I will send a note to Anny that we are linking to her and doing this sweater together!)

Second, you will need a copy of the 2006 Winter Interweaves magazine in order to get the cable chart from Kate Gilbert's "A Cardigan for Arwen."

I am using size 3 Inox metal circulars and the suggested yarn, KnitPicks Andean Treasure (in lagoon, which is what AnnyPurls used I think...). I tried using size 2 needles, but they were just wayyyy too small for this tight knitter.

I am a very beginner knitter, so am having some fun and some frustration figuring all of this out. I'm almost done with the back, but I'm sure some of you experts out there will have your back sections done before me anyway!

Aurora's Avatar Aurora 02:36 PM 07-02-2007
I still need to order my yarn. I am thinking I will use the KnitPicks Andean Treasure.

I do not have the Interweave issue but HoneyTree posted some great cable patterns and nausicaamom is working on one.
flapjack's Avatar flapjack 02:53 PM 07-02-2007
Daft question, but the Knitpicks is sock weight, right?

Oh, and I'm definitely in for the KAL I'm toying with the idea of knitting in Inca Cloud, or else a basic cashmerino-type stuff. I might have enough of my mystery wool left to do this though.
Hmm, decisions, decisions....
HoneyTree's Avatar HoneyTree 03:25 PM 07-02-2007
Yay! Thanks, Megs, for getting this thing started!