Tulip tie dye kits from Michael's - review please - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 07-05-2007, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi,
I ordered some PFs and also wanna make a cotton ring sling. I am a perfect newbie when it comes to TDing. I did it once when I was in 6th grade long time ago. I remember using cold water tho. I saw Tulip brand cold water tie dye kits at Michaels and am thinking about trying those. Experience with Tulip dye anyone?
#2 of 14 Old 07-05-2007, 04:53 PM

it's not bad. it's easy to use, and it's fiber reactive dye, so it's more permanent than rit.
the colors aren't nearly as vibrant as the ones you get from dharma, though. at full strength, they're sort of medium intensity, and of course you can dilute them down to make pastels.
#3 of 14 Old 07-05-2007, 04:57 PM

I just dyed quite a few shirts with the Tulip kits recently. My sister and I did them together. You can see the results here: http://knittingthenightaway.blogspot.com/

It was the first time I had ever tie-dyed anything.
#4 of 14 Old 07-09-2007, 11:07 AM

I much prefer the jacquard kits you can get from Dharma (they also carry them, and individual dyes and solutions, at Crafts 2000, if you have one of those near you).
#5 of 14 Old 07-09-2007, 04:40 PM

I made some onsies out of the kit when my oldest was a baby. I thought they turned out really bright and nice. I have not ever used the others mentioned on here before. It was my first time tie dying and it was pretty easy and messy. We did it on a tarp on our patio. We used the soda ash that came with the kit to soak the fabric in. When I worked at a summer camp we did tie dye but without soaking it and they turned out awful- very faded.

Mama to three hilarious kiddos- Dylan 10, Edison 7, Violet 3. Partner to my sweet man since 2/2/02- mostly just doing.

#6 of 14 Old 07-11-2007, 05:13 PM