Interested in learning to sew....need suggestions - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 07-07-2003, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am interested in learning to sew. I want to be able to sew baby slings, clothes, and house stuff (curtains, pillows...etc). Does anyone know of any good sites I can go to to learn to sew? Or any classes? I know a little about sewing, but not enough. I plan on purchasing a second-hand singer to get started. Any help would be appreciated.

Zen doula-mama to my spirited DS1 (2/03), my CHD (TAPVR) warrior DS2 (6/07) & a gentle baby girl (8/09)
#2 of 5 Old 07-08-2003, 12:40 AM

I don't have any web sites but if you check your local sewing shops they often offer classes.
I'm a beginner sewer too and I finally just started "winging" it and teaching myself. I started with easy stuff like beanbags for the kids to play with then went on to simple clothing and some stuffed animals. I practiced different stitches to see what was sturdier, etc and just experimented-I still do!
I did pick up a few books from the library and browsed thru them to get some ideas and pointers.
And ask around to your friends. I have a SIL and friend that I ask lots of questions and they have taught me a lot.
Ann

Full-time homeschooling mama : of a 15yo "teenager" , 12yo DIVA, 9yo builder, & 4yo treasure.
#3 of 5 Old 07-08-2003, 01:09 AM

I second what Ann said about sewing classes, and experimentation. Also, if you know someone who sews, it wouldn't hurt to ask them to sit down and show you some of the basics. If all else fails, get an easy pattern/how-to book, and go from there.

Good luck! I have picked up machine sewing pretty quickly, and the only sewing project I had ever done until recently were the "hammer pants" I sewed in my jr. high sewing class. :LOL
#4 of 5 Old 07-09-2003, 10:59 AM