Dumb question: How do you sew straight? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 07-09-2003, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yesterday, I started working on a duvet (let me interject that I am a total novice sewer) and pinned it together in a line and then sewed just guiding the fabric while the machine pulled it but it didn't come out straight. Is this something that takes practice or is there a technique? Thanks.

"We shape the clay into a pot but it is the emptiness inside that holds whatever we want" Lao Tzu
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 07-09-2003, 12:47 AM

My mother had me get a piece of notebook paper and practice sewing on the lines without thread
#3 of 10 Old 07-09-2003, 01:12 AM

It takes a while to learn to "steer" your fabric. There should be guides on your machine, though. To the left and especially to the right of the foot, most machines have lines that denote the seam allowance incriments. I choose and line and stay on it (granted, staying on it takes practice). In the beginning, the slower you go the easier it should be to keep your fabric where you want it.

Charlotte, midwife to some awesome women, wife to Jason, and no longer a mama to all boys S reading.gif('01), A nut.gif ('03) S lol.gif ('08) and L love.gif ('10).
#4 of 10 Old 07-09-2003, 01:31 AM

Here's an idea that might help...i took a quilting class last winter and we actually put quilting tape (it looks like masking tape, but it's very narrow) on the quide line that we needed. We built up a few layers of the tape so that it was like a little wall for the fabric to snug up against. It definitely makes sewing straight lines easier.
#5 of 10 Old 07-09-2003, 01:32 AM

I have little lines to the right of the needle indicating the seam allowance in fractions of an inch. I pick a line, and keep the edge of the fabric on that line while I sew.

Is that helpful, or dumb and obvious?

#6 of 10 Old 07-09-2003, 01:38 AM