Fairies and Mermaids - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 25 Old 08-07-2007, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My daughter has requested a fairy doll. This doll must be soft (like a Waldorf doll), have wings and long blond hair. DD also mentioned that after that she wants a mermaid - with blue hair if possible!

I have made just two dolls before, so I am by no means an expert, but I think I am starting to get the hang of it. I do better with a kit or at least detailed instructions, but I don't need a beginner or super-easy kit.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. This has probably been asked before, so feel free to just direct me to another thread.

TIA!

Adele

Adele geek.gif, Mommy to Adelia hearts.gif7/31/2000, wife to Rod fuzmalesling.gif, and co-owner of Max dog2.gif

#2 of 25 Old 08-07-2007, 01:07 PM

Here's a couple of Mermaid kits-

I love this family business-
http://www.weirdollsandcrafts.com/wa...-doll-kit.html

The old standby-
http://www.magiccabin.com/magiccabin...c=172&sv=33347

I don't know of any Fairy Kits, off hand, but this is a wonderful WAHM business and Amy is so helpful- I know she can help you put something together and she carries all the best quality materials. Good luck!--

www.dancingraindolls.com
#3 of 25 Old 08-07-2007, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter

Thank you for the great links! I will probably go with the Weir kit for the mermaid. I think for the fairy I will make a regular doll and then attach wings or a fairy costume with wings. I will need to talk with my daughter about whether she wants the whole doll including the wings to be soft and cuddly, or if she would rather have stiffer wings that stand out, but are not really cuddly.

Adele geek.gif, Mommy to Adelia hearts.gif7/31/2000, wife to Rod fuzmalesling.gif, and co-owner of Max dog2.gif

#4 of 25 Old 08-07-2007, 06:59 PM