Made some cloth trainers - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-20-2007, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I am really new to sewing. DD2 will only wear cloth diapers at night and now during the day only wants to wear underwear (Yay the joys of potty learning ) anyway I have some gerber trainers but they are not very absorbant and I looked at how much some other cloth trainers are and well they are a little to spendy for me. So I tried making some of my own.

I took fruit of the loom underwear (2t/3t) and turned them into training pants.

1) I undid the seam in the underwear where there are two layers.

2) I cut up some cottonbabies Micro fiber inserts that I had to fit in between the 2 layers. then stuffed the insert in.

3) I then zig zagged the seam closed.

4) I then sewed 3 lines into the layers so that there would be no shifting. Just relized that there looks like there is puckering on the lines but IFL I don't see this.
http://s90.photobucket.com/albums/k2...t=144f990a.pbw
Not 100% waterproof. But much more absorbant then the gerber ones we have and pretty trim fitting.

Jessie, BWing Mama for the last 5 years to two wonderful Little girls. Blessed to have a DH who gets me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pax, loving wife since 2001, Mother of DD1 (12) and DD2 (8 1/2). Entering our 5th year of Homeschooling: Eclectic mix of curriculum and child interest lead. Backyard urban chicken chasers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2007, 10:19 PM - Thread Starter

I hope the link works on the pics

Pax, loving wife since 2001, Mother of DD1 (12) and DD2 (8 1/2). Entering our 5th year of Homeschooling: Eclectic mix of curriculum and child interest lead. Backyard urban chicken chasers.
Old 08-21-2007, 07:14 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So cute! Solves the "I want to wear big kid underwear" problem, too! : You did a great job, mama!